Faubourg

Faubourg is a successful high-end bakery located in Kerrisdale, Downtown Vancouver and recently just opened a 3rd location in West Vancouver.  I don’t usually venture out to Kerrisdale, but since my husband had to run errands around the area, we decided to get a mid morning snack.

Faubourg (1)  Faubourg (4)

I’m obsessed with pistachio desserts so when I saw some treats available in that flavor, my mind was made up.  I ordered the pistachio croissant and pistachio macaron.  The croissant was a buttery combination of sweet and slightly savory.  The macaron was wasn’t too soft or chewy and although I prefer the ones at Thierry’s, I still enjoyed it.

I know most people tend to use the word macaroon referring to the treats pictured below, but there’s a difference.  A macaron is a sweet meringue-based confection made with eggs, icing sugar, granulated sugar, almond powder or ground almond, and food coloring.  A macaroon is a generic phrase that is applied to a number of small, sweet confections.  They are usually composed of egg whites, sugar, and dried coconut, often piped with a star-shaped tip, and sometimes dipped in chocolate. 

Faubourg (2)  Faubourg (3)

This bakery usually has a quiet buzz, but I was surprised by the noise level on the weekends.  It was pretty loud and you can hear almost every table’s conversations.  That being said, I didn’t mind it at all, it’s a good atmosphere to ease into your Saturday afternoon.  My daughter doesn’t make too much noise when we’re out in public, but she pretty well could have been babbling away and it would have been just fine.

Faubourg (6)  Faubourg (5)

Medium noise level – $$

Faubourg

2156 W 41st Avenue

Vancouver, BC

V6M 1Z6

 

Leave a Reply

